Within the Campus SophiaTech, integrated at the heart of the first european techno-park, Labex UCN@Sophia offers to researchers, students and industrials a unique platform of international outreach for research, training and innovation on User-Centric Networks.

Around a common vision which positions the user at the centre of the network, Labex UCN@Sophia concentrates the knowledge and skills of 120 IT and telecommunications researchers to invent next generation networks services: smart data searching, reliable and effective distributed applications, high performance and energy-efficient wired or wireless infrastructures as well as a network ensuring the safety and the privacy of data.

Intelligent transport systems and e-Health (autonomy at home) are the two application domains chosen to show the contributions of the methods and techniques developed and to carry out experimentations in real conditions.

The Labex UCN@Sophia research program accompany the emergence of the digital society. It is conducted under a context of massive growth of needs (connected citizens), number of connected devices (Internet of objects) and of the volume of the available data (Big data) which require a new generation of networks (5G) and a genuine social reflection.

The Labex UCN@Sophia was awarded by the French Ministry for Research and Higher Education through the competitive call "Laboratory of Excellence" (Labex) in the context of the government fund for "Investments for future" in 2012. The program is running over 8 years (2012-2019). It was granted a total budget of 5.5 M€.

The Labex UCN@Sophia is part of the initiative of excellence UCA JEDI of University Côte d'Azur, linked to «Networks, Information and Digital society» Academy of Excellence.

Au sein du Campus SophiaTech et intégré au cœur de la première technopole d’Europe, le Labex UCN@Sophia offre aux chercheurs, étudiants et industriels une plate-forme unique de recherche, de formation et d’innovation dédiée aux réseaux du futur.

Autour d’une vision commune qui place l’utilisateur au centre du réseau, 120 chercheurs en informatique et télécommunications issus de laboratoires au rayonnement international inventent les services de l’Internet de demain : la recherche intelligente de contenus, des applications distribuées fiables et efficaces, des infrastructures filaires ou sans fil performantes et sobres en énergie ainsi qu’un réseau garantissant la sécurité et la confidentialité des données.

Le transport intelligent et l’e-santé sont les deux domaines applicatifs choisis pour montrer les apports des méthodes et techniques développées et réaliser des expérimentations en conditions réelles.

Ce programme de recherche accompagne l'émergence de la société numérique. Il s’inscrit dans un contexte de croissance massive des besoins (citoyens connectés), du nombre d’appareils connectés (Internet des objets) et du volume des données disponibles (Big data) qui appellent une nouvelle génération de réseaux (5G) et une véritable réflexion sociale.

Programme de recherche sélectionné par le Ministère de la Recherche et de l’Enseignement Supérieur, labellisé "Laboratoire d’Excellence", dans le cadre de l’initiative gouvernementale "Investissements d’Avenir", UCN@Sophia s’étend sur 8 ans (2012-2019) et est doté d'un budget total de 5,5 M€.

logo_uca-jedi.jpg

Le Labex UCN@Sophia est membre de l'Initiative d'excellence UCA JEDI de l'Université Côte d'Azur, rattaché à l'académie 1 RISE (Réseaux, Informatique, Société numériquE) qui concerne les réseaux de communication, le traitement et la modélisation de l’information numérique et l’étude des évolutions de la société induites par la révolution numérique.